Awards and Accomplishments




Mark Griffin, Division Director of Union County Building Code Enforcement, has been elected president of the North Carolina Ellis Cannady Chapter of the International Association of Electrical Inspectors (IAEI).  



Chelsea Sloggy, Conservation Education Specialist with Union County Soil and Water Conservation District, has earned her Environmental Education Certification.







Crystal Starkes, 4-H Extension Agent for Union County, received three awards at the 2017 North Carolina Association of Extension 4-H Agents (NCAEA4HA) Conference this month. She received the Communicator Award for Educational Search, Excellence in Teen Programming award and Excellence in Communication and Expressive Arts award.





Josh Brooks, Field Services Superintendent, Union County Public Works, was presented with the Raymond E. “Red” Ebert Award at the North Carolina American Water Works Association and Water Environment Association. This award was established by the NC AWWA-WEA Board in 1988 and is presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the practice of operating a water distribution or wastewater collection system, specifically for demonstrating organizational leadership, technical innovation, facility improvement, or promoting and/or participating in training, safety awareness and general knowledge that has led to the upgrading and advancement of the water distribution and/or wastewater collection systems.








Sgt. Matt Price, Sgt. Jonathan Davis, Cpl. Jessica Stewart, Cpl. John Plowman and Sgt. Mark Thomas of the Union County Sheriff’s Office successfully completed NC State University's Law Enforcement Executive Program (LEEP). The LEEP program consists of 20 days of police managerial training delivered over a 6-month period. 








Union County Sheriff’s Office Lt. Lori Pierce graduated from NC State University's 80th Session of AOMP (Administrative Officers Management Program). Since its inception in 1989, more than 2,100 law enforcement officers from 142 different departments, 13 states and 3 foreign countries have graduated from the rigorous, nationally accredited, 12-week program.  




On March 7, the Union County Procurement Division received the Carolinas Association of Governmental Purchasing (CAGP) 2017 Sustained Professional Purchasing Award (SPPA).  The Procurement team responded to the detailed application process that required substantial documentation. The SPPA is presented annually by the CAGP organization to member agencies that have demonstrated excellence in purchasing standards during the calendar year.






Union County Emergency Communications Telecommunicator MaryAnn Helms has received the Sandy Marsh Award as Union County Telecommunicator of the Year. The award is given in memory of former Union County dispatcher Sandy Marsh who lost her battle with cancer in 2013. The Telecommunicator of the Year is determined by peer votes and the award is presented to one person who has shown commitment to Emergency Communication's mission and excellence in service throughout the year. 






Public Works was presented a Silver Award from the N.C. Department of Labor (NCDOL) at the Union County Chamber of Commerce's annual Safety Awards Luncheon on May 24 for the second consecutive year.






Cheri Bennett, EFNEP Educator in Union County, received the “Over the Mark” Award and the Outstanding Performance Award at the 2018 EFNEP State Conference.  







Union County was presented with a Gold Award for the third consecutive year from the N.C. Department of Labor (NCDOL) at the Union County Chamber of Commerce's annual Safety Awards Luncheon on May 24.  



On June 7, 44 managers supervisors, and emerging leaders graduated from Union County’s 2017-2018 Leadership Development program.  The Leadership Development Program began in 2013 and to date 160 Union County employees have completed the 9-month program.  The program was created to focus on building organizational strength through the development of key staff throughout the organization.